Dr. Xia, DVM


Dr. Xia worked in the human biomedical field as a scientist for several years before becoming a veterinarian. She has had the gift of taking care of animals since childhood. At one point, she was even thinking of animal rescue as her part-time job but realized that she wanted to put forth all her efforts and the rest of her life into helping animals and the people who love them. She would like to work every day with people who have the same idea and goals.

What is your educational and work background?

I got my Ph.D. in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology before I got my veterinary degree in Colorado State University. After that, I received my rotating internship training at BluePearl Specialty and Emergency Hospital in California and my surgical internship training at Veterinary Specialty Center in Illinois.

What made you decide to become a vet?

I changed my career path after I made some achievements in my previous field. The dream, passion, and sympathy support my beliefs and therefore my transition to veterinary medicine.

Why did you decide to join the Companion team?

It’s a great place. We have the same passion and dreams!

What is the best thing about being a vet?

I think the best thing is to hear from a client that the patient is doing much better and knowing I was able to help!

What is one of the most common problems you’ve encountered in pets you treat?

Clients have a common concern about defecation after surgery. Pets have daily normal bowel movements and suddenly no bowel movement for 3 days after surgery. It’s actually pretty common after general anesthesia!

Do you have any special interests in vet medicine?

I think I wanted to be a surgeon before I knew I would become a vet. When I worked in the research field, there were some procedures during experiments such as dissection of specific neurons from brain tissue or specific muscle tissue from the body, etc. Surgery is very rewarding to me. Sometimes surgery is the best way to save animals who have a life-threatening injury or return function back quickly and relieve pain and suffering of animals.

What are some of your favorite activities outside of work?

Outside of work I usually spend most of my time cooking and sleeping or chatting with my family.

Favorite place to eat?

My mother’s house!

Favorite place to visit?

Great Wall.

Favorite food?

Hot pot.

Favorite movie?

Forrest Gump.

Name 3 things people might be surprised to learn about you.

I am very indecisive when ordering food. It’s always a disaster! I play the piano for the church. I was a student parent when I was in vet school. And I’m the first one to bring a baby to the New Student Camp on hills.